Travel, Russia, Russian History

The Peter & Paul Fortress: See Some Serious Russian History

This is where all the Russian Rulers are buried, including the Romanov family

Valerie Delzer
4 min readJul 22, 2021

--

​I discovered there is more than one church in St. Petersburg named Peter & Paul. The first one I visited is the Peter & Paul Cathedral next to the Peterhof Palace about an hour drive outside of the city limits of St. Petersburg.

Although beautiful, it is more reminiscent of a country church than a grand cathedral. The second one I visited is the Peter & Paul Fortress, a multiple building complex, which contains the oldest church in St. Petersburg titled the Cathedral of the Saints Peter and Paul. It is also the second tallest building in St. Petersburg.

​In 2015, I visited this fortress while on a 3-week trip to St. Petersburg, Russia. As with most, if not all the cathedrals and castles and palaces I visited, I came away impressed. This time not so much…

--

--