Please Don’t Feed the Trolls

Valerie Delzer
2 min readMay 6, 2022

They want to trap you into fights.

Photo by MARIOLA GROBELSKA on Unsplash . Trolls lie. You know it when you see their nose growing.

I haven’t been posting on Medium for awhile now. I still occassionally check articles to read using the app. Yesterday, I discovered an odd reply to a reply I made an someone else’s post from long ago. Very random. I didn’t care for the “chummy” response so I told it “go away troll”.

You know it’s a troll when it has zero followers, zero following, and zero posts. Not to mention a generic name on the profile.

Some would say it’s a bot, just ignore it. Sure, I know those bots when I see ’em. They’re all over Twitter and Elon Musk wants to do something about it.

But this was different because as soon as I blocked/muted said troll, another one came in and manically posted 6 replies in a row to my “go away troll” comment. This *person* ahem, if you could call such an idiot a person, was looking to stir me up with such insane comments. This was not a bot. What kind of person would sit there saying I offended their “man” and then proceed to spoil for a fight?

Complete strangers? Who knows? Who cares?

I reported both zero accounts, then blocked and muted them.

If it had been a bot at least it wouldn’t continue on with the comments.

--

--